Skip to main content

Recognizing Our Educational Frontliners In Umak’S Parangal Sa Mga Natatanging Kawani 2021

latest news, Articles, awards, 2021

Continuing the tradition of recognizing exemplary public service, the University of Makati’s Parangal sa Mga Natatanging Kawani for this year focuses on the noble and new frontliners during this time of the pandemic, our teachers, and professors, through the Meritorious Online Teaching Awards for 2021. The massive shift of the educational landscape worldwide has required teachers to go above and beyond their duties of facilitating learning in the classroom. Their lessons and activities have reached out into our own homes and families to guide our learners and help them make it through these very challenging times.


Led by Dr. Mary Acel D. German, the Faculty Awards Committee received a total of 15 nominees from the 7 eligible colleges. The nominees were Mr. John Alfred Bravo Jr. and Ms. Josephine Robinos from the College of Allied Health Studies, Mr. Protacio Romualdo and Alvin De Guzman from the College of Arts and Letters, Mr. Jomariss Plan and Mr. Wilber Sabado from the College of Computer Science, Ms. Cai Venson and Mr. Alfie Jay Aquino from the College of Construction Sciences and Civil Engineering, Ms. Jennifer Garcia and Ms. April Leaño from the College of Education, Mr. Joshua Raphael Ordonez from the College of Human Kinetics, Mr. Paul Vallo from the College of Technology Management, and Mr. Jin Carl Primo and Ms. Katrisha Faye Pingol from the Higher School ng UMak. Each nominee was judged based on four criteria: 1) instructional design and facilitation, 2) learner engagement and satisfaction, 3) attainment of learning outcomes, and 4) impact on the institution. The nominations went through a rigorous deliberation process which scrutinized the documents submitted by the nominees and an ocular inspection of their virtual classrooms which covers the academic year 2020-2021.


MSA 2021 BG


Since this is the first-ever online-only teaching award given by UMak, the awarding ceremonies were also conducted online through a series of videos in UMak’s Official Facebook Page. Dr. Elyxzur Ramos, UMak’s Officer-In-Charge President and concurrent Vice President for Concurrent Affairs, in his video announcing the nominees expresses his commendation and message to the community and said that “Alam ko po mahirap. Lahat po tayo nanibago, lahat po tayo kailangan mag-aral at matuto kung pano ba magturo sa new normal… kaso (pero) lahat po tayo ay nagpursigi.”


Last October 22, 2021, the Meritorious Service Award for Online Teaching Service were awarded to the top three nominees who showcased exceptional work during the pandemic. The three awardees were Mr. Jim Carl Primo and Ms. Katrisha Faye Pingol from the Higher School ng UMak and Mr. Romualdo Protacio from the College of Arts and Letters. The awardees were celebrated and duly recognized through a series of videos which features their teaching principles, strategies, and outlook towards teaching in the New Normal.


To watch the awardees videos, you may visit the links below:


Written by: Ma. Angelica Ramos